1914 – September 15

Sun at last. I hope the bad spell is over. German prisoners come through in trainloads. A lady breakfasting next to me in a restaurant this morning gargled water and spat it out into her wine-glass then cleaned her nails with a penknife. I am glad I am English.

Captain Aldridge of my old regiment, the Sussex, turned up at lunch and tells me the regiment did well yesterday. My only old friend in the regiment, Colonel Montresor, was killed in that fight. The Germans will not stay for our bayonets. As soon as they see them they throw down their arms. They captured at 2.a.m. in a village 40 Prussian Guards Officers drunk! And a French girl of 4 with bayonet wounds in both arms. Left 7 p.m.

Leave a Reply

