1916 – August 23

My Army birthday. To-day I begin my 33rd year of service and I give thanks to God that I have been allowed to do my work so long and to have enjoyed it so, and for the many blessings those 33 years have brought me – my wife and children not the least among them. I start my 33rd year as a Brigadier General. an A.D.C., and a C.B. Quite enough honours, thank you, and though I love my work I’d like to go. I want some home life and I want to see my children.

Yesterday we had tea in the city with Rai Bahadur Karm Chand, a wealthy old man with a fine house, furnished in the worst taste.

Leave a Reply

