1917 – January 4

Col. Ewart is now promoted Major General and this brings me on to the list of paid A.D.C.s*, for which I am duly grateful, and hope I may now at last begin to pay off my debt of £2000. My income is now £2090 a year and Daisie has her own £100 for her dresses. On January 1st, Daisie’s birthday, Susanna had a very fine fancy dress party of all the children here, about 40, and we also dressed up, Daisie as a Swedish peasant, Miss Durrell Dutch, and I in my beautiful uniform of Chasseurs à pied, which I got while I was in France last year.

* Aides-de-camp

Leave a Reply

